Why is “Mother’s Day” on different days?

Why is “Mother’s Day” on different days, even different months in Britain then the US? Here in the US its celebrated on the second Sunday in May. This year it falls on May 9th. Australia celebrates it then too. With their British roots I would have thought otherwise! Same with Canada. About ten years ago India jumped on the bandwagon, and yes it also shares the same date as the US. A little closer to home with Mexico, who celebrate Mums every May 10th, no matter what day of the week that falls. So what about the UK? It’s the fourth Sunday in the period of Lent! That is the period of the liturgical year leading up to Easter. Makes sense?! Perhaps this is because Mothers were celebrated back in the 1600s when we were in a more “Godly” state of mind perhaps? In fact England was the first country in the world to celebrate dear old Mum. For more on this fascinating subject check out website: http://ow.ly/1zJip.

To mothers everywhere, Good Job!

One thought on “Why is “Mother’s Day” on different days?

  1. Dean says:

    I once asked my Mum when kids day was. ”Every day” came her response. It wasn’t until I got older that I knew exactly what she meant. I now make sure regardless of whether we’re talking, whether I’m miles away that I send her some sort of gift. As for countries changing the dates; doesn’t America always change things to act somewhat different? We, being Britain, were the first to do a lot of things which isn’t surprising considering how old we are. I know that when I finally wave goodbye to these isles, the patriotism inside me will still celebrate when Britain does, and not because another country tells me to.

Leave a Reply

