How to waste a morning!

How many blogs are there? Over 50 million according to Cyberjournalist. I have asked myself why all morning as I struggled to find a way to add a stumble upon button and link to this site. I then clucked around all the various themes to see how to make this page more readable, but mostly more handsome and cool looking! (My 14-year old son will cringe when he reads “cool”.) I digress. Here are some stats lifted from the above mentioned post (I’ll add the link to the bottom of this post because I don’t want to lose your readership just yet!).

A few highlights:

• On July 31, 2006, Technorati tracked its 50 millionth blog
• The blogosphere is doubling about once every 6 and a half months

• About 175,000 new weblogs are created each day
• There are more than 2 blogs created each second of each day about 1.6 million postings per day, or about 18.6 posts per second.

https://i2.wp.com/www.sifry.com/alerts/Slide0006-7.gif

So what am I doing sitting at the kitchen table at 1:50 pm sipping at my fourth cup of PG Tips? Not to speak of the fact that I am considerably technically challenged! For those who may know me, or are just starting to, know that I jumped into this 2.0 world very late in life! I might have Hewlett Packard on my resume, but that was back in the day when windows were something you cleaned with Windoline!

So why do I bother? I kinda like this new-found wannabe geek in me!  A step above my Facebook page.

Do you blog? If so, why? And congratulations Jonica for making it this far! My turn to buy breakfast!

Karen

PS click here to view the full article cited above.

One thought on “How to waste a morning!

  1. Dean says:

    So it just goes to show you that a lot of people must create a blog for their own personal reasons and not necessarily to gain readers. Because those statistics prove it is a hell of a task to compete for traffic.

Leave a Reply

