Sorry or stupid?

“Throw your dreams into space like a kite, and you do not know what it will bring back, a new life, a new friend, a new love, a new country.”

-Anais Nin

Interestingly, this is the image I use for my website background as well as my  Mac desktop, business cards and more. Frankly I am not sure why! Never been much of an outdoorsy person, let alone into kites. I think it was the brightness, the choice of colours and how the kites seem to reach for the light. (How subliminal is that…?)

Returning to the author of the quote Anais Nin for a moment. I came upon her narratives in the 70s and thought them a little scandalous  –  particularly because they were penned by a woman the same age as my nan! They consisted of collections of short stories based on erotic thoughts and encounters. Ms Nin was perhaps better known as a diarist with psychological leanings. You may have seen a movie “Henry and June”, based on her memoir/diary of the same name.

Where is all this leading to? Well today I came across a site named rather aptly, So There. It’s an online venue dedicated to people who are looking for closure. Somewhere to vent, grieve, or apologise, and more. I found it poignant and rather sad. Folks “throwing” their angst into space and hoping for, what?

Is this another avenue for freedom of expression “à la internet-age” or bordering on creepy and voyeuristic? Is it wise, cathartic or stupid to know that your life regrets are a click away from anyone with a computer, and forever engraved in cyberspace?

What do you think? And yes, your posts will also be there – along with the very same posts on “So There” – so be warned!

2 thoughts on “Sorry or stupid?

  1. Dean says:

    As the day gets old, the mind evolves even more so, thus creating new ways of expressing yourself. Unless of course you believe that as humans we’re devolving. But back on topic. What is the difference between sharing your thoughts this way compared to sharing your thoughts to some guy in a booth at the other end of a grilled window? Sure more people will be aware of said thoughts but I think it is more to do with letting out what you need to say than who sees it. I’m not saying I agree with it (or sitting in a box with a stranger for that matter) but some people find it extraordinarily difficult to get out what they have to say and if this is a means for them to release anger, frustration, regret, without necessarily revealing who they are, then I say why not.

  2. Oooh how sweet! Looks like they are playing hide & seek anurod the pot plant. I adore how their little eyes are looking at each other! Good on you for making some lovely things to keep for yourself! You deserve a treat! But hey, you should certainly make some for your shop too. I smile at my ‘Sam the Dog’ everytime I walk past him. It totally freaks him out. He thinks that I’m up to no good…like I’m raiding his cookie jar or something ;D

Leave a Reply

