Hot Dog Anyone?

Now I know that it’s highly unlikely to see the words “British Food” and “Gourmet Cuisine” in the same sentence. I work part-time at a health club in Northern California and surrounded by accordion abs, bulging biceps and taut tushes. That’s why I was pleasantly surprised by the rave review given by a co-worker of a book that I recently shared: “You are what you eat” authored by Dr. Gillian McKeith, a fellow Brit.

For those of you living outside of the UK, you may not know that Dr. McKeith is also a host of a BBC TV series of the same name. It’s of the reality genre where they focus on an individual who is typically overweight with a very dodgy diet, work with them over an eight-week period, culminating with dramatic weight loss and a much healthier lifestyle. She’s a pint-sized Scot with a British Bulldog personality. Here are a couple of fun clips. Please note he third one is an actual clip and you may find it a little disturbing.

3 thoughts on “Hot Dog Anyone?

  1. debbie says:

    sorry, but I would have an all beef hot dog – not particularly on a good day, but if it was offered I would eat it……I have been trying very hard these days I must say to watch what I eat. I still like my wine or a beer

    • Not trying to push anyone over the fence into veggie land. It’s the sodium and stuff that is added to keep these things from turning putrid before being purchased that are scary to me.

  2. Dean says:

    Ah Gillian McKeith, I used to watch her programmes religiously years ago, I even bought her book. That was until questions were being asked over how legitimate she actually was. Her methods of checking the tongue and stools to see what you ate and how it affected you resembled Secondary School work. She was also very quick to drop the Dr. title in her advertisements. The equation is simple really; if you eat crap you’ll look crap. And as Jamie Oliver says; if you can’t pronounce what is on the back of a packet, don’t buy it.

Leave a Reply

