Dad’s story as an evacue

1. The Journey

The old steam train pulling out of Chiswick main line station is packed with children of all ages. The mass exodus had started all over England from the major cities and towns that were about to become targets by German bombers.

With a luggage label tied through the lapel of my little raincoat with just my name on it, the obligatory gas mask in a pressed cardboard box strapped over my shoulder, I was just one of millions of children evacuated to the safety of the country. I was just four years old and did not really understand a lot of what was happening, but to be going on a train journey for the first time in my life was exciting. Being so young I was lucky enough to be accompanied by my brother Fred, who was twelve.

The Harris boys (L to R – Fred, George, Jim and John

One thought on “Dad’s story as an evacue

Leave a Reply

